something new/old – letting go/grabbing hold

I’m thankful I’m not bound by the smell

as much anymore

the circulating fumes

pooling out my ears and around my nose

“alert, alert, there’s a fire inside his mind”

What does it mean to be stuck in your head?

What does it mean for your insides to be dead?

And why do I intend love but times something else comes out instead?

cigarettes and cigarettes and cigarettes

I wish you were staying tonight

Your warmth next to me

I’m thankful your freeing me from my demons

I’m thankful I’m not bound by the smell

as much anymore

and I hope these things that I set aside

of course add years to my life

but more so

bring room to my heart

and space to create and build, to travel

to grow a new set of eyes

and see you in every light

to see me in every light

letting love overflow

and time spill over

every day from forever till now

and back again

2 thoughts on “something new/old – letting go/grabbing hold

Leave a Reply

