Lover,

I always start a project when you leave

Mother said rest, rest dear child

Learn to love yourself well

Tender arms, tender arms

Be kind, my child

I always put my back up to the blade

Brother repeats what mother said

Said in his own way

Said what’s the use of building towers

If you never stop to see the stars

But Father nods his head

At the skyline and how one must be higher

To see above, to see the sun

I realize I’ve put no windows in my project

In my soul

The sun sets and it grows dark

But something glows

Earth faces outward

And upward everyone can see

The horizon is for a single sun setting and rising

A beautiful and brief thing

Up and outward is for the stars

Thus I learned to pray for clear nights

 

Leave a Reply

