For Myself

I go down alley ways and abandoned streets

Digging in garbage looking for something to eat

I chose this life, it did not choose me

My whole life I’ve wanted to sail by my own flag

It took me twenty years to build the boat

And another four to plant the mast

Now I pull the rope and it ripples in the breeze

I brush off death because there are sights to see

Whether painful or joy filled there are days to seize

And I will not play nice nor stay safely docked

On this shore of disease

 

Leave a Reply

