dreaming with you

We pass out of the canvas of sleep

You breathing is erratic, panicked

I grip you face and place my lips

Where you say you love me

It’s only a dream, whispered

That was months ago

 

Last night, I sensed you tense

I was fast asleep

You grabbing at your body

Breathing short and shallow

I lift you up from the pillow

And cradle you in my arms

That soft spot

The one meant for you

I put my hand on your head

Much like you did for me

That first night

We stay like this until

We pass through the canvas of sleep

You say thank you for pulling me

Out of that

I say thank you for being so

Welcomed in my arms

Leave a Reply

