Seventeen

The world is mine

And yours

His and hers

When I was 17

I was sneaking out of bedroom windows

Onto roofs to howl at the moon

I would squat, pipe in hand

Spark a flame and leave this dreary land

I would re-enter

Amber glow meeting my eyes

Shower, eye drops, cologne

Hide my lies and the red veins

Interlacing my eyes

A lot of showers when I was 17

Skin marked by the parch

And raisin lines

Soap would dribble and fall behind my ears

I had two friends

The first you’ve met, my pipe

The other my fears

Leave a Reply

