Lay it down

I refuse to let the better

Get the best of me

 

I refuse to allow culture

And doctrine to prevent me

From loving myself any less

Loving others any less

 

“I am a sinner and I’m probably going to sin again.”

 

There is no excuses there

No loopholes or trying to escape

From something

Not justifying or perhaps justifying

But I have determined that I will raise

Myself learning to love better

Even if I make a lifetime of mistakes

I want to love you better

Even if I fail you countlessly

I want to raise children with confidence

Not ones that are so afraid of doing wrong

They live in a constant state of self-doubt

And are never able to choose

Nor make a decision on their own

Because I know those children

There’s one that lives in me

And it is now up to me to raise him

Leave a Reply

