Heart & Mouth 1.

Do you think i’m good for people?

Today it’s feeling like i’m not.

Could I just have a reminder that I’m good?

Without it being some big ordeal.

i just need to know i’m good.

because there were two conversations

two different people

i start to wonder if this is a trend

if i’m perpetually making others worse off.

I put my hands in my head at the dinner table.

There’s a board game out, but I don’t feel like playing.

My parents are ________.

My moms trying to get my dad off the iPad.

My dads on the iPad for the family.

Do you think i’m good for people?

They both look up and realize i’m there.

Just like when i was a child

Just like when i was a child

They start working together to show me i’m loved.

My pain unites them in some predatory, parental way.

As a child i was a host of real and imagined symptoms

chest pains, depression, anxiety, back pains, achy, achy, achy

then they would get along

i tonight leave feeling better

for a moment they got along

but i hear their voices beginning to raise again as i walk out the front door.

Leave a Reply

