Working Hands

I’ve moved the stars with my hands

My mind is stuck on nature

And the transcendental

Smoke signal, coke tickles, laughter

And the cooing

My whole mind wrapped in fire

A hand held out in help

But I ignore it to better make my own way

 

I’ve seen the stars move

And fall

I’ve seen their light disappear.

On most nights when

The clouds are gone

And the eyelids open

I see them staring at me

At us

These great balls of fire

Staying alight

As long as they can

To receive our warmth

And watch us burn bright

Leave a Reply

