Quick to Apologize

I learned how to say sorry today

I don’t like to do that anymore

I don’t like to say sorry

I spent so many years

Saying sorry for things

I didn’t do

Other people’s feelings

Other people’s thoughts

Other people’s action

I felt scummy

Like I was bad

That I had done those things

That I had caused something awful

I don’t like saying it anymore

I don’t like taking on a weight

That doesn’t belong to me

My load is lighter

But I saw a sadness in her eyes

I was authentic in my heart

I had done nothing wrong

But I felt guilty

I didn’t want to say it

I didn’t want to say it

I saw sadness in her eyes

I had done nothing

My heart was pure

 

I’m sorry I came across that way. I’m sorry it didn’t sound sensitive. I desire to be sensitive. I desire to be kind. I want my hand to be for healing and my heart to be for loving. I’m sorry.

 

I didn’t take the weight

I just apologized for how it made her feel

Even though I didn’t cause it

But that sadness in her eyes

Gave me a chance to heal

 

Leave a Reply

