If I could and when I can’t

I wish I could go back

Rewind the hands of time

Turn back the clock

And take pain away

 

I wish I could stop

This perpetual dysfunction

This incomplete frustration

And take the pain away

 

I wish I could create

Love for love and faithfulness

And they’d all hold hands

And the pain would float away

 

I wish I could cultivate

Honest communication

And work out the troubles of their youth

And maybe the pain would stay away

 

I wish I could, but I cannot

But my God, my God

I’m so thankful they made you

Even if the pain sticks around today

Leave a Reply

