First things First

My words rumble and my voice grows horse

You say it’s because they’re brilliant

I know it’s because I am nervous, dead afraid

I can feel the night winding down

Like clock-work, a slow wind-me-up-clock

Ticking away

They were loud in the sun, the store, and the kitchen

But they have grown quieter

I feel more in control

The gong has gone to a whistle

Through puckered lips

And eyes that smile

They don’t stop smiling

You’re asleep now

I’d like to think I read you there

But it was probably from the day

One of those two for one days

Those never ending days

Those breathe life into my lungs days

I look at the contour of your face

Your quiet eyes

I whisper

I’m going to go

Even though

Everything wants to stay

Leave a Reply

