Raindrops on Runaways

The motorcycle vibrates beneath me

I hold on tight to his waist

Not because I’m afraid

But because he is warm

And it has begun to rain

The drops splash off his leather jacket

And spatter onto the viewer of his helmet

It fits snug on my head

If I tighten it just right

His hair flies in the wind, soaking from the rain

We’re runaways

But he is just a few years older than me

It probably sounds crazy or typical

But we love each other

That’ll be enough

 

We pull up to a bed and breakfast

For some R&R

The sky has cleared

And the sun is an orange flame

Setting the evening on fire

Till the cool of night comes

We’ll stay here tonight

Honeymoons

Leave a Reply

